If you are a CASE member and interested in serving on a CASE committee, please click here.

Finance Committee Picture

The Finance Committee assists the CASE Treasurer in the development of the CASE annual budget, recommendations for new joint venture enterprises and financial review.

The Finance Committee Chairperson is Zabrina Cannady of Georgia. Committee members are Laural Jackson, AK; Ellen Stokebrand, NE; Liz Fleming, MA and Emilie Maul, MT.


Membership Committee Picture

The Membership Committee disseminates member lists, develops strategies for growing membership, and selects the annual CASE Award Recipients.

The Membership Committee Chairperson is Dr. Julie Bost of North Carolina. Committee members are Melissa Taylor, IL; Chrissy Peterson, SD; Jerry Reeder, NM; Angie Neely, VA; Concetta Lewis, MI; Luisa Lowry, OR; Joe DeMarsh, MI; and Pam Bell, IN.


Policy & Legislation Committee Picture

The Policy and Legislation Committee develops and recommends timely statements of CASE legislative and regulatory concerns, providing a framework within which CASE positions can evolve. This committee assists in identifying and collecting legislative and regulatory information for dissemination to members, and provides policy and legislative information relative to issues of concern to special education administrators.

The Policy and Legislation Committee Chairperson is Dr. Kevin Rubenstein of Illinois. Committee members are Maureen Burness, CA;  Blake MaGaha, GA; Valerie Johnson, SD; Abby Cypher, MI; Don Christman, MT; Brigid Bright, AR; Yvette Goorevitch, CT; Kathy Gabrielson, CT; Dr. Tanya Rapert, MO; Angie Balsley, IN; and Greta Stanfield, KY.


Product Review Committee Picture

The Product Review Committee provides leadership in advancing evidence-based practices that support improved student outcomes and recognizing management products that increase efficacy and efficiency. The appointed subcommittee engages with vendor representatives to review products in a variety of areas (e.g.,feasibility, research base, product research, reputation, alignment with CASE) and recommends endorsement based upon rigorous criteria.

The Product Review Committee Chairperson is Dr. Pamela Baker of Virginia. Committee members are  Dr. Connie Lyttle, PA; Dr, Richard Templeton, AL and Dr. Angel Royal, PA

Professional Development Committee Picture

 The Professional Development Committee strives to provide professional learning options that will build the capacity of our membership in order to allow them to meet the needs of staff and the students they serve. Work primarily focuses on putting together the CASE Fall Conference, Winter Hybrid and our section of the CEC Convention. The committee is continually exploring ways to improve those conferences as well as the learning we offer to our membership.

The Professional Development Committee Chairperson is Heath Peine of Kansas. Committee members are Gary Myrah, WI; Ben O’Connor, MO; Matt Koeboek, MI, Bill Presutti, NJ; Ramona Lee, ID; Julie Bowers, NV; Vicki McNamara, MO; Kristin Bordonaro, IL; Joy Jansen, ID; Shawn Bernard, OR


Publications Committee Picture

The Publications Committee provides timely and relevant content to members and the field on topics related to special education and special education leadership. Committee members develop publication proposals, recruit authors, edit manuscripts and contribute articles about committee work. Time commitments include monthly meetings and asynchronous editing work that is dependent on the publication schedule and length of the documents to be edited.

The Publications Committee Chair is Dr. Adam Leckie of Arizona. Committee members are JoAlice Ray, GA; Julianna Hanscom, MA; and Talia St. Clair, OH.


Research Committee Picture

The Research Committee is comprised of higher education professionals and practitioners within the field of special education and works in collaboration with many CASE Committees, as well as organizations, agencies and professional associations. The committee provides leadership in developing and advancing research based practices in special education that are highly correlated to improve student outcomes; supports leaders and administrators of special education by providing information on products, publications and research that promote best practices highly correlated to student outcomes; collects, analyzes and disseminates information on topics critical to the field in appropriate publications and works with identified researchers, scholars, authors and publishers on producing publications that contribute to leadership development.

The Research Committee Chairperson is Dr. Gina Scala of Pennsylvania. Committee members are Barbara Pazey, TX; Mitchell Yell, SC; Perry Zirkel, PA; Michele DeBerry, OK; Maria Rosetti, AZ; Susan Thomas, SC; Mary Kealy, VA and Wendy Rogers, MS.


Technology & Communications Committee Picture

The Technology and Communications Committee assists the CASE President and Executive Director with website management; dissemination of information to the membership and subdivision units; document storage for the organization; office efficiencies and the management of needed software.

The Technology and Communications Committee Chairperson is Carrie Turner of Missouri. Committee members are Alissa Krantz, AZ; Emilie Maule, MT; Valerie Riedthaler, OH; LIz Battaglia; and Leigh Gruber, MO.



 The Unit Development Committee provides support and encouragement to the various state and provincial units in their endeavor to meet the needs of CASE members in those units. The committee also assists in the start up of new units in states and provinces with sufficient membership, yet no unit.

The Unit Development Committee Chairperson is Eric Hoppstock of Michigan. Committee members are Jane Kachmar-Desonne, NJ; Carolyn Smith-Gerdes, MI; Sara Sorenson, WA; and Lynn Schroeder, OK; Samantha Poindexter, MO